Allotment · Beekeeping

Birthday Bees

Two weeks ago, for my birthday, I was gifted with a brand new hive and a nuc of bees to call my very own! Last week I brought them down to the apiary site on my allotments and installed them in the hive. 

I’ve been keeping Bees with my mum and her colonies for a few years now and I love working with them. But they have always been Mum’s Bees and I just help out (and eat the honey!) so I’m really looking forward to having my own colonies to work with. 

We even saw the Queen during the transfer, which is always very reassuring! They seem lovely calm natured Bees, which is always good. I hate working with cranky Bees. Fingers crossed all goes well and they like their new site!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Bees

Leave a Reply

